Other Worlds

As I grow into my age, I find myself looking for moments of stillness…quiet…solitude. So it seems natural, then, that one of my favorite “slice of life” moments is the time we spend reading each day. We refer to it as “iRead” and it’s magical. We’ve had independent reading time all year but recently, we lengthened the time, renamed it “iRead” and added plenty of time to share our storied journeys with each other.

It’s time. Undercurrents of quiet buzzing pervades the learning space as readers meander in and out of our classroom looking for the “just right book” and the perfect reading spot. Slowly, almost imperceptibly, we enter a state of flow and everything around us ceases to exist. We enter other worlds, where anything can happen and surprisingly often does.

 

3 Replies to “Other Worlds”

  1. Kathleen Sokolowski says: Reply

    This Slice made me want to have that stillness and escape into a book… it’s amazing how reading brings you into so many different worlds!

  2. the hum of doing what you love!

  3. This reminds me of the excitement of entering the world of others through this SOL Challenge. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply